One for the Money by Janet Evanovich

Ok, so this is not my typical read, but I am pretty glad I stumbled across this book. Why did I choose this one? A few months ago at my local B&M Janet Evanovich was signing books. So, I figured, why not? And grabbed a copy of her latest book, #16 in the Stephanie Plum series, and got it signed. Then I didn’t have enough room in my luggage to bring it back with me to Europe, so while I await my next trip stateside, I borrowed book 1 from the library.

I must be living under a rock because I knew nothing about Stephanie Plum or the series before cracking the cover of this. While it is a little bit dated (mid 90’s, as was the last book I reviewed) I have to say that I enjoyed this book.

For those who are living under the same rock I am, it is the tale of Stephanie Plum, a woman fallen on hard times. She must resort to bounty hunting to pay the bills. The world of bounty hunting in Trenton, New Jersey is about as glamorous as it sounds. Stephanie reminds me of New Jersey when I left it. She wears large shirts and spandex shorts. She is tough, but not impossibly so. And she makes incredibly stupid decisions that turn out for the best.

Evanovich’s writing style is what makes this book so readable. It is funny. I laughed out loud a few times, which is rare for me. It also has a very natural flow to it. Many times when I read books with a more comical style of writing I get tired of it after a couple hundred pages. With this book, because the writing wasn’t over the top I could hang in there until the end.

This book was a great pace for being on maternity leave, it didn’t involve too much concentration on my part and was easy to pick up and put down without needing to backtrack. I will keep my eye out for more of Evonovich’s work. Don’t know if I will make it through all 16 books, but at least one or two more.

About frazzledbookworm

I'm a new Mom trying to keep my reading addiction active while on maternity leave with my son
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One for the Money by Janet Evanovich

  1. Kristi says:

    I have heard of these books but I’ve never picked one up. I’m sure it’s not my typical read either, but I have found that sometimes it’s nice to pick up a fun read. I may try this one when my brain needs a break from some of the heavier reads.

Leave a Reply

