Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer


Review based on audiobook – from audible.com

I will admit to not initially wanting to read/listen to this book. As a vegetarian for half of my life, I feel good about my choice, but don’t really want to know the details. I don’t miss meat, never really liked it, so haven’t felt tempted to slip up. But when I heard the basis for the book was a discussion of Jonathan Safran Foer’s son and his diet, I changed my tune.

See, my son is turning 6 months, about to start on solids and I’m having the same dilemma. DH eats meat, which I have always been OK with, and almost never in our home. I have said previously that I want my children to have the same choice I had, to eat meat or not.

The discussion of his son’s diet really just serves to set the stage for an in-depth discussion about the idea of eating meat, modern farming techniques, and thinking man. Foer travels to farms, meets with farmers, tours barns and slaughter houses and reflects on the experience.

In the end, Foer hit one of the main reasons for my being vegetarian at the beginning of his book, and it is the idea I struggle with trying to teach my son. The idea that we are taught not to hurt people, be kind, helpful, to other people and animals. Yet, when we sit down to the table, there is meat on the plate. (My other main reason is that I just don’t like it —).

Overall I would say this book is worth a read, reconsidering and thinking about diet is always an important thing to do now and then in one’s life. I enjoyed Foer’s tone and the audiobook was good quality. I appreciated the addition of texts from various meat industry workers, but they were difficult to follow in the audiobook. I don’t know if it will convert anyone, but hopefully it will increase awareness.

About frazzledbookworm

I'm a new Mom trying to keep my reading addiction active while on maternity leave with my son
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer

  1. Another great book about this topic is An Omnivore’s Dilemma. Nice review.

Leave a Reply

